GGWash’s 2018 primary endorsements and coverage

The future of our region depends on our elected officials. This year, voters will make decisions that have profound effects in DC, Virginia, and most of all Maryland. We have been working to determine which candidates will best advance urbanist priorities on transportation, housing, and other policies.

To do this, we set up a committee of 20 volunteers and staff from DC, Maryland, and Virginia to sort through these races. They are empowered to decide on Greater Greater Washington's election coverage and endorsements.

For each race, we sent candidates a questionnaire, met with some candidates for more in-depth discussions, and are making endorsements. All of the endorsements below are for the Democratic primary unless otherwise noted.

Want to keep up to date on it? Subscribe to our weekly elections newsletter!




  • Overview of races & candidates
  • Governor: Rushern Baker
  • 6th Congressional District: Roger Manno 
  • State legislature (Prince George's County districts):
    • District 21: Joseline Peña-Melnyk, Mary Lehman, and Matt Dernoga for delegate
    • District 22: Nicole Williams and Ashanti Martinez for delegate
    • District 24: Erek Barron and Jazz Lewis for delegate
    • District 26: Sade Oshinubi for delegate
    • District 47: Malcolm Augustine for senator
    • District 47A: Diana Fennell and Jimmy Tarlau for delegate
    • District 47B: Carlo Sanchez for delegate
  • State legislature (Montgomery County districts): Coming soon

Montgomery County

Prince George's County

Northern Virginia

You can help keep independent, thoughtful, policy-oriented reporting and analysis healthy by supporting us with a monthly, yearly, or one-time contribution.

Support Us